For every guy that has ever told me…

  • “I like you, but…” (Reason A, B, or C)
  • “I can’t believe I’m letting you go”
  • “It’s not you- it’s me”

I’m sure you all have used or heard these infamous lines at some point in your life. They are classic. Whether said due to timing, distance or a nice buffer to “I’m just not that into you.” Although there may be some validity (debatable) in these statements, I find that actions often speak much louder than words. To walk away may not necessarily mean one doesn’t care – or maybe they really don’t- nonetheless, walking away means something else in this life is pulling them in another direction.

Looking back on every time I have heard these words, I don’t feel sadness or anger. There is no regret. Because really, it simply comes down to this: Just as I am not for you, you are not for me. There is no harshness in that, it just is.

For every person that comes into our life, it is an opportunity: an opportunity to get to know another human being. To have fun. To explore. To grow. To laugh. To be. When a relationship comes to an end, there is no need for ill-feelings.  Because through each person you learn what you like, what you don’t. What you can tolerate, what you can’t. What you want versus what you need. You can learn from the other person, maybe even discover something about yourself. Who knows, perhaps you can even teach them something.

For me, when I look back on each man that has come into my life, I smile. My time with remains in history, untouched and untainted. For the time, it was beautiful.

For each of those men, and there are only a few, I want to say thank you. Thank you for letting me get to know you- your thoughts, your desires and your story up until this point. Thank you for allowing me to see myself through your perspective. Thank you for your time, for each moment- both the good and the bad. And thank you for the memories.

Thank you for “letting me go,” for sparing my heart, and ultimately for leading me one step closer to where I am supposed to be. I wish you the best in this life. And that wish is sincere. So you go left and I go right and we will let it be.

And because you can’t title a blog post a Beatles song without posting it, here it is. Pardon my cheesiness, but c’mon it’s a classic.

